December 1, 2017

CHLA Announces 2017 Stars of the Industry Award Winners

Napa, California – The California Hotel & Lodging Association announced their 2017 Stars of the Industry award winners on Friday, December 1, 2017 at the Westin Verasa in Napa, CA. The annual Stars of the Industry awards are given out to honor lodging employees and properties that best symbolize the quality service of the industry. The 2017 awards were given out for three property and six individual categories, as well as the Peggy Mosley Industry Champion Award honoring an out- standing CHLA or CABBI member who has demonstrated professionalism in operating a CHLA or CABBI member property, and have taken a leadership role in our industry and in his or her community.

Below are the award winners for each category:

Outstanding Lodging Employee of the Year

Carlos Ubias, Front Desk Supervisor – The Landing Resort & Spa, South Lake Tahoe

Alan Narayan, Front Desk Lead – Dinah’s Garden Hotel, Palo Alto

Lauren Bergloff, Sustainability Leader & Naturalist – Terranea Resort, Rancho Palos Verdes

Outstanding Manager of the Year

Eric Miller, Facility Manager – The Landing Resort & Spa, South Lake Tahoe

Donald Violick, Chief Engineer – The Mission Inn Hotel & Spa, Riverside

James Neilson, Event Manager – Anaheim Marriott, Anaheim

Outstanding General Manager of the Year

Liz Hall – Inn at Playa Del Rey, Playa Del Rey

Scott Mills – The Garland Hotel, North Hollywood

Roger Huldi – W San Francisco, San Francisco

The Stevan Porter Emerging Hospitality Leader of the Year Award

Christina Zizzo, Human Resources Manager – Hotel Nikko San Francisco

The HD Supply Housekeeping Award

Teresa Moreno, Housekeeper – Napa Valley Lodge, Yountville

Yolanda Aguirre, Housekeeping Room Inspector – Montage Laguna Beach

Mo Wah Yuan Wong, Housekeeping Coordinator – Omni San Frnacisco

WIL Connect Leader of the Year Award

Janet Casey-Devaney, Director of Operations - Park Hyatt Aviara, Carlsbad

Michele Gaul, Regional Director, Talent & Culture – Fairmont San Francisco

The Peggy Mosley Industry Champion Award

Rick Anderson, former Owner of Casa Tropicana, San Clemente

Community Service Award

TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell

The Ritz-Carlton San Francisco

Good Earthkeeping Award

Rosewood Sand Hill - Menlo Park

Portola Hotel & Spa - Monterey

Guest Relations Award

Magic Castle Hotel - Los Angeles

Lake Tahoe Resort - South Lake Tahoe

CHLA Partners