Board photo

California Hotel & Lodging Association Announces 2019 Board of Directors

Coronado, CA – The California Hotel & Lodging Association (CHLA) elected its 2019 Board of Directors during its annual meeting yesterday, November 27, 2018, at the Hotel del Coronado.

Michael Pace (General Manager, InterContinental Mark Hopkins) is stepping in as the 2019 CHLA Board Chair, with Scott VandenBerg (General Manager, Hyatt Regency Sacramento) becoming immediate Past Chair. Pace is supported by the newly elected Vice Chair, Bijal Patel of Coast Redwood Hospitality and Secretary/Treasurer, Tom Patton of Ramada Santa Barbara.

“Our board has been very successful in providing guidance that helps to ensure we are representing our members to the best of our ability,” said Lynn S. Mohrfeld, CHLA President & CEO. “I look forward to continuing our efforts in 2019 and finding new opportunities to add value with our incoming leadership.”

Three board members with expiring terms are renewing their positions. These members are: Elvin Lai, Ocean Park Inn; Bimal Patel, Concept Hotel Group; and Wes Tyler, Chancellor Hotel.

Additionally, there are five new directors who were elected to three-year terms:

  • Nic Hockman, Disney’s Paradise Pier Hotel
  • Marc Koussoff, Stay Idyllwild Group
  • Daniel Kuperschmid, Grand Hyatt San Diego
  • Michelle Millar, University of San Francisco
  • Pam Ryan, Renaissance Long Beach Hotel

Outgoing Board members include Ed Bear, AutoClerk, Inc.; Russ Cox, Interstate Hotels; Stephanie McCaffrey, McCaffrey House Bed & Breakfast; Elliott Mills, Disney’s Grand Californian Hotel; and Pat Seminario, Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa.

“I’d like to welcome the new board members and thank the officers for their dedication to our industry and their local communities,” said Mohrfeld. “These new additions and changes further enhance the diversity of our board, which will give us a broader perspective as we move into the next year and continue to advocate for California’s lodging industry.”